Senate President Pro Tempore Announces Committee Assignments

Senate President Pro Tempore Darrell Steinberg released the Senate committee assignments this past Monday.  The list of those nominations is below.

The committee member designations were adopted by the Senate Rules Committee on Tuesday, January 25, 2011.  Senate committee chairs have already been nominated and approved by the Rules Committee.

In addition, the Senate has already approved the appointments of Senator Ellen Corbett as Senate Majority Leader and Senator Kevin de Leon as Senate Democratic Caucus Chair.

Agriculture:  Cannella (Chair), Rubio (Vice Chair), Berryhill, Evans, La Malfa, Vargas, Wolk.

Appropriations:  Kehoe (Chair), Walters (Vice Chair), Alquist, de Leon, Emmerson, Pavley, Price Jr., Steinberg, Wyland.

Banking & Financial Institutions:  Vargas (Chair), Blakeslee (Vice Chair), Evans, Kehoe, Liu, Padilla, Walters.

Budget & Fiscal Review:  Leno (Chair), Huff (Vice Chair), Alquist, Anderson, DeSaulnier, Emmerson, Evans, Fuller, Hancock, La Malfa, Liu, Lowenthal, Rubio, Simitian, Wolk, Wright.

Budget Subcommittee #1 – Education:  Liu (Chair), Huff, Wright.

Budget Subcommittee #2 - Resources, Environmental Protection, Energy, & Transportation:  Simitian (Chair), Fuller, Lowenthal.

Budget Subcommittee #3 - Health & Human Services:  DeSaulnier (Chair), Alquist, Emmerson.

Budget Subcommittee #4 - State Administration, General Government & the Judiciary:  Rubio (Chair), Evans, La Malfa.

Budget Subcommittee #5 – Corrections and Public Safety:  Hancock (Chair), Anderson, Wolk.

Business, Professions and Economic Development:  Price, Jr. (Chair), Emmerson (Vice Chair), Corbett, Correa, Hernandez, Negrete McLeod, Vargas, Walters, Wyland.

Education:  Lowenthal (Chair), Huff (Vice Chair), Alquist, Blakeslee, Emmerson, Hancock, Liu, Price, Jr., Simitian, Vargas, vacancy.

Elections & Constitutional Amendments:  Correa (Chair), La Malfa (Vice Chair), de Leon, Gaines, Wolk.

Energy, Utilities and Communications:  Padilla (Chair), Fuller (Vice Chair), Berryhill, Corbett, de Leon, DeSaulnier, Pavley, Rubio, Simitian, Strickland, Wright.

Environmental Quality:  Simitian (Chair), Strickland (Vice Chair), Blakeslee, Hancock, Kehoe, Lowenthal, Pavley.

Governance & Finance:  Wolk (Chair), Huff (Vice Chair), DeSaulnier, Fuller, Hancock, Hernandez, La Malfa, Leno, Liu.

Governmental Organization:  Wright (Chair), Anderson (Vice Chair), Berryhill, Calderon, Cannella, Corbett, de Leon, Evans, Hernandez, Padilla, Strickland, Wyland, Yee.

Health:   Hernandez (Chair), Strickland (Vice Chair), Alquist, Anderson, Blakeslee, de Leon, DeSaulnier, Rubio, Wolk.

Human Services:  Liu (Chair), Emmerson (Vice Chair), Berryhill, Hancock, Strickland, Wright, Yee.

Insurance:  Calderon (Chair), Gaines (Vice Chair), Anderson, Corbett, Correa, Lowenthal, Price Jr., Wyland.

Judiciary:  Evans (Chair), Harman (Vice Chair), Blakeslee, Corbett, Leno

Labor & Industrial Relations:  vacant (Chair), Corbett (Vice Chair), Dutton, Leno, Padilla, Wyland, Yee.

Legislative Ethics:  Walters (Chair), Lowenthal (Vice Chair), Negrete McLeod

Natural Resources and Water:  Pavley (Chair), La Malfa (Vice Chair), Cannella, Evans, Fuller, Kehoe, Padilla, Simitian, Wolk.

Public Employment and Retirement:  Negrete McLeod (Chair), Walters (Vice Chair), Gaines, Padilla, Vargas.

Public Safety:  Hancock (Chair), Anderson (Vice Chair), Calderon, Harman, Liu, Price Jr., Steinberg.

Rules:  Steinberg (Chair), Harman (Vice Chair), Alquist, de Leon, Fuller.

Transportation and Housing:  DeSaulnier (Chair), Gaines (Vice Chair), Harman, Huff, Kehoe, Lowenthal, Pavley, Rubio, Simitian.

Veterans Affairs:  Correa (Chair), Cannella (Vice Chair), Berryhill, Calderon, La Malfa, Negrete McLeod, Rubio. 

Joint Committees

Joint Committee on Arts:  Price, Jr. (Chair), Calderon, Cannella, Emmerson, Kehoe, Liu.

Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture:  Evans, Kehoe, La Malfa, Lowenthal.

Joint Committee on Legislative Audit:  Alquist, Anderson, de Leon, Dutton, La Malfa, Rubio, Wolk.

Joint Committee on Rules:  Alquist, Cannella, Corbett, de Leon, Dutton, Emmerson, Fuller, Harman, Huff, Kehoe, Leno, Steinberg, Vargas, Wright.

Joint Legislative Budget:  DeSaulnier, Emmerson, Huff, Kehoe, Leno, Padilla, Walters, Wolk.