Steinberg Announces Senate Committee Chairs

Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg announced committee chair assignments for the new session this past week.
Steinberg changed the structure of several standing committees.  The Revenue & Taxation and Local Government committees were merged, forming the Senate Committee on Governance and Finance.  The new committee will be chaired by Senator Lois Wolk (D-Davis).
The Banking, Finance and Insurance Committee was divided into two committees, with Senator Juan Vargas (D-San Diego) chairing Banking and Finance and Senator Ron Calderon (D-Montebello) at the helm of the Insurance Committee.
The assignments are set to be confirmed at a Rules Committee hearing on Jan. 12. Full committee assignments are expected within a week.
Agriculture: Tom Berryhill
Appropriations: Christine Kehoe
Banking & Financial Institutions: Juan Vargas
Budget & Fiscal Review: Mark Leno
Budget Subcommittee #1: Education: Carol Liu
Budget Subcommittee #2: Resources, Environmental Protections, Energy & Transportation: Joe Simitian
Budget Subcommittee #3: Health & Human Services, Labor & Veteran’s Affairs: Mark DeSaulnier
Budget Subcommittee #4: State Administration, General Government & Judicial: Michael Rubio
Budget Subcommittee #5: Corrections and Public Safety: Loni Hancock
Business & Professions: Curren Price
Education: Alan Lowenthal
Elections & Constitutional Amendments: Lou Correa
Energy, Utilities and Communications: Alex Padilla
Environmental Quality: Joe Simitian
Governance & Finance: Lois Wolk
Governmental Organization: Rod Wright
Health: Ed Hernandez
Human Services: Carol Liu
Insurance: Ron Calderon
Judiciary: Noreen Evans
Labor & Industrial Relations: open, Vice Chair Ellen Corbett
Legislative Ethics: Mimi Walters
Natural Resources and Water: Fran Pavley
Public Employment and Retirement: Gloria Negrete McLeod
Public Safety: Loni Hancock
Rules: Darrell Steinberg
Transportation and Housing: Mark DeSaulnier
Veterans Affairs: Lou Correa